Skip to main content

The draw for dressage is done

The draw for dressage is done at ECCO FEI World Championships Herning,
| admin

In front of the many participating nations chef d’Equipe’ and team staff the Danish Ground Jury President Susanne Baarup led the draw for the start order in the Grand Prix de Dressage at the ECCO FEI World Championships.  

Baarup shared the task of drawing numbers and nations from pre-prepared bowls with technical delegate Janet Lee Foy (USA). The draw decides the starting order in the team competition held during Saturday and Sunday, Blue Hors FEI World Dressage Team Championship Grand Prix. 

19 teams in the dressage competition

The chef d’Equipe’ of the National Federations with a stake in the team competition had prior to the draw handed in the order of go for their riders. In total 19 nations have a team on the start list although three nations only have three combinations, these are Japan, New Zealand and Norway.  

When there is no team in place and a combination starts as an individual the draw is conducted according to individual riders ranking. There are many nations represented in the start field with two riders from India and a single rider from Armenia. Highest ranking individual rider is Yvonne Losos de Muñoz with her gelding Aquamarijn, partnering together for the Dominican Republique. 

Japan to start

Last year’s Olympic host Japan drew start order number one among the teams while USA will be the last team out with Olympic team medalist Adrienne Lyle on her stallion Salvino as team anchor. The reigning team champions Germany drew their team spot as number 18 and they send out Championship debutante Fredric Wandres with his chestnut Duke of Britain as their last rider to go.  

Team order 

1. Japan 

2. New Zealand 

3. Norway 

4. Switzerland 

5. Portugal 

6. Finland 

7. Austria 

8. Ireland 

9. Poland 

10. France 

11. Spain 

12. Belgium 

13. Great Britan 

14. Australia 

15. Netherlands 

16. Denmark 

17. Sweden  

18. Germany 

19. USA 

Link to official start list